Music Review | Collabro Album Launch & New Album Road To The Royal Albert Hall

I’ve been wanting to get this post up now for so long but just haven’t had chance to get around to it but I’ve made sure that I have this week. I’ve been a massive Collabro fan since seeing them on Britain’s Got Talent with their fantastic audition. I’m a Musical Theatre fan and, for quite some time they have been my guilty pleasure.

Back in August I was lucky enough to not only bag myself VIP tickets to their album launch but to head off to London for the day and also meet the lovely guys themselves. What a fab day it was!!

They are the loveliest guys I’ve ever met, we got a special VIP acapella session which was fab and we all came away with a little goodie bag each which had a signed copy of the new album inside (4 days before it’s actual release).

I had some fab seats and the show itself was totally breathtaking. As it was the album launch and very special and secretive we were unable to take photos or videos throughout. They sang all the songs off the new album. Here’s my review of all the songs from the album:

1. Grease from Grease

Collabro aren’t really known for singing upbeat songs and I was a little worried about what they would do with this song but I think it’s such a fun song to start not only the album off with but to kick off the gig. They even have a dance routine to this which is just great watching them do.

2. As If We Never Said Goodbye from Sunset Boulevard

To me this is very much a Collabro classic song and one that I really loved listening to them sing. It’s slowly growing on me the more I listen to it but it’s not one of my favourites.

3. Maria from West Side Story

Ah, West Side Story. This is a really great song and the boys harmonies are fantastic. You really get to hear each individual voice on this.


4. Electricity from Billy Elliot

Billy Elliot, so glad that they’ve included this on the album. It’s one of my favourite songs and the boys even had a laugh trying to put on the accent before they sang this. They did a fab job with this one.


5. On My Own from Les Miserables

Ah, Les Miserables, one of my fravourite musicals and the vocals for this were on point. Hearing them sing this live made me have goosebumps. Jamie and Matt’s vocals are absolutely fantastic on this. A fave of mine for sure. I can’t get enough of this song.

6. Why God Why from Miss Saigon

I quite liked this song. The vocals on this were absolutely fantastic, I love that you can hear each of the boys individual vocals. I really love Tom’s vocals and until this album I’ve felt like we’ve not heard enough of him.

7. Don’t Cry For Me Argentina from Evita

This had to be included on one of their albums, everyone knows this song, even if they don’t like musical theatre or have any knowledge of it. They nailed it and did a fab job on this. The harmonies were just delicious.

8. Never Enough from The Greatest Showman

When I heard that there would be a song from The Greatest Showman on the album, of course, I was really excited. I have to admit it’s not my favourite song from the soundtrack but I really enjoyed this version of the song, the harmonies as always are on point!! This is also a very emotional song, as they started to sing we held up a red heart each just to show our appreciation for the boys and we made Jamie cry. This was an idea that the lovely Angela had come up with and not only spent time cutting each and every heart out by hand but flying over from Canada too, just to see them. It was a really emotional moment. Every time I hear the song now it takes me back to that moment.

9. Defying Gravity from Wicked

YESSSSS!!!!! Finally!! I absolutely love this song from Wicked and when they sang this on the Home tour after For Good I was hoping they’d put it on a future album and they did!! This is my favourite song from the whole album.

10. Jersey Boys Medley from Jersey Boys

Oh I’m glad this was not only the closing song of the launch gig but I’m glad this is on the album!! I absolutely love it, not only are the vocals fantastic but there’s a dance routine that goes with this and each and everyone of us got involved and danced along with this. They performed this on the Home tour too.


Final Thoughts

Not only is this album going to be a cracker and is packed full of fab songs but there was so many great moments during the launch night, they had a Q&A with the audience, Matt sang some of his lyrics wrong, Tom was telling jokes and singing Stars at the end of the whole night. There was so much love and such a fab atmosphere. There was just so much fun going on. I had an absolutely amazing night and it will be one I wont forget in a long time. I can’t wait for the Road To The Royal Albert Hall tour next year, I’ve already bagged my tickets!!

Have you heard the album?? What did you think??

Lots of Love



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *